• XML Parsing Error at 1:5875. Error 23: EntityRef: expecting ';'


Board of Directors

Board of Directors

John N. Venzon 


John spent 20 years in executive leadership roles in sales, technology and operations with IBM and Bank of America. In addition, he has owned and operated a customer service focused Internet company, a wholesale and retail sporting goods company and a consultancy. John holds a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and has completed over 1,800 hours of corporate education. He is an active community volunteer and enjoys competitive sports. He lives with his wife, Laurie, and their two children in Davidson, NC.





Brett Ellis

Board Treasurer

Brett Ellis is the Chief Financial Officer at CoaLogix, Inc., a growing company focused on providing innovative services to coal-fired power generating facilities to reduce their environmental footprint through technology, optimization and efficiency improvements.  Mr. Ellis is responsible for all finance, accounting, business development and treasury activities and provides support to the Company’s board of directors.  Mr. Ellis has over 15 years of experience in corporate finance, strategic development, mergers and acquisitions, operations and financial planning and analysis experience.  

Prior to joining CoaLogix, Mr. Ellis was most recently with FairPoint Communications, Inc., a leading communications provider of broadband Internet access, local and long-distance phone, television and other high-capacity data services to customers in communities across 18 states, in the role of Vice President, Business Planning and Financial Reporting.  Mr. Ellis is a CPA with experience in the telecommunications, manufacturing and public accounting industries.  Mr. Ellis holds a Bachelors of Science degree in Business Administration and a Master of Accounting degree from the Kenan-Flagler Business School at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Mr. Ellis and his wife, Pattie, have four children and live in Huntersville, NC. 


Other Board Members

Erskine Smith          Town Manager, Mooresville

Leamon B. Brice     Town Manager, Davidson

Steven A. Miller

Howard Kosofsky 

Larson Jaenicke

Bill Sykes                 Non-voting member

David Auger             Non-voting member



Richard Howard, lifelong resident of the Mooresville community, has worked closely with many Fortune 500 companies. He has developed countless marketing programs for products such as cosmetics to automotive campaigns. Howard is also greatly experienced in the Real Estate market and upper-level management. He has devoted his life to building the resources and development of the Mooresville area, and believes that his guiding principle for business and civic activities come first and foremost in the best interest of the region.

Board Meeting

The Board of Directors will meet Thursday, May 1st at 6:3pm at the MI-Connection Technical Office located at 420 South Academy Street, Mooresville, NC.


Website Design by Biz Technology Solutions, Inc.